Cabelas fly rods

Fly Fishing and Tying discussion

Moderators: muley7mm, TroutJournal, highcountry

Cabelas fly rods

Postby chet on Sat Aug 09, 2008 9:24 am

There are soooo many choices for fly rods now days.....
I wanted to tell you about my new rod.

I have been using a cabelas sweetwater for the last 12 years, baught it when I was 16! Been an awesome rod, especially for 40 bucks!

But playing with some of my friends rods, I could tell it left alot to be desired! So I went shopping!

Found A combo on sale. Cabelas Traditional II large arbor reel, man those are sweet, cant remeber the name, but it is a cabelas reel, and backing and line and an awesome rod case!!!! 99.00!!
It is a 9'6" 5 wt 2 pc!!! I love it!.....

Im sure its not comparable to some of the $600 plus rods out there, but for me it's the best hundred bucks I've spent in a long while!
chet

Re: Cabelas fly rods

Postby TroutJournal on Sat Aug 09, 2008 10:55 am

As long as it works for you and you love it. Agreed, best 100.00 bucks you've spent in a while. :)

Thanks for telling us.
TroutJournal
Site Admin

Postby chet on Sat Aug 09, 2008 12:47 pm

I've easily spent that much in flies since then.
chet

Postby Brinx on Wed Aug 13, 2008 6:29 am

I've always said, you can't buy a rod on price. Buy the rod you can cast. All rods cast differently and no one casts any rod the same. I wouldn't ever buy a rod without test driving 'em first. If it's the rod for you, it's the rod for you. Doesn't matter brand or price.

Good job,
Brinx
Brinx

Postby Inconnu on Wed Aug 13, 2008 8:08 am

The average caster cannot tell the difference between a $300 rod and a $600 rod of similiar actions.
Troutjournal is correct, whatever works well for you is great and make no apologies for it. Good fishing!
Inconnu

Postby Acadianfly on Fri Aug 15, 2008 4:02 pm